pic 11th International Workshop on
Networking Issues in Multimedia Entertainment

Anaheim, California, USA (Town of Disneyland Resort - Los Angeles Area)
February 16, 2015
Co-Located with ICNC 2015

Call for Papers (PDF) (TXT)
Workshop Program

Paper Format
Registration and Visa
Hotel Information
Main Conference Web Site

Theme and Scope

The growing availability of digital contents and the simultaneous cost reductions in storage, processing, and networking is driving the growth of the entertainment technology. While in the past entertainment technology traditionally offered predominantly passive experiences, continual advances in network and computer technologies are providing tools for implementing greater interactivity and for enabling consumers to enjoy more exciting experiences, such as, for example, interactive digital TV, interactive theatre and orchestrated music and sound design. This phenomenon is pulling together an extremely diverse group of experts specializing in different technical areas, such as networking, computer graphics, artificial intelligence, games, animation, multimedia design, human-computer interaction, educational media and software engineering. Even though high-tech entertainment promotes interdisciplinary fusion, yet only the ubiquity of wireless/wired communication is considered suitable for accepting the challenge of building a large interactive environment for the delivery of the maximum entertainment value to millions of consumers worldwide. In this respect, there is a great hope that the wired and wireless may take over this complex scenario for fulfilling the consumer expectations. The IEEE International Workshop on Networking Issues in Multimedia Entertainment provides an open forum for researchers, engineers and academia to exchange the latest technical information and research findings on next-generation networked multimedia concepts, technologies, systems, and applications for entertainment covering existing deployments, current developments and future evolution. Authors are solicited to submit complete unpublished papers in the following, but not limited to, topic areas:

Application for Entertainment
  • Architectures, Platforms and Protocols for Networked Games
  • Internetworking, Vertical Roaming and Session
  • Handoffs for Entertainment (Internet to WLAN, to 3G/BT/...)
  • Home LANs, Body and Personal Area Networks for Entertainment
  • Media and Device Adaptation
  • Music and Movie Distribution
  • Next Generation Wireless Technologies for Entertainment (IEEE802.11n, UWB and Beyond)
  • Opportunistic Multi-hopping and Opportunistic Networks for Entertainment
  • QoS and Security Support for Entertainment
  • Resource and Service Discovery Technologies (P2P, LDAP)
  • Technologies for Networked In-Home/Car/Flight/Train Entertainment
  • TV-Centric and Broadcast Networks for Entertainment
Technology for Entertainment
  • Agent-based Entertainment
  • Augmented, Virtual and Mixed Reality
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Evolutionary Entertainment
  • Interactive Television and Theatre
  • Massive Multiplayer Games
  • Mobile and Wireless Entertainment
  • Networked Entertainment
  • Networked Narrative and Digital Interactive Storytelling
  • Networked Video, Music and Sound Design
  • Pervasive Entertainment
  • Personalized and User-Adapted Television
  • Sport, News and Entertainment
  • Virtual Technology and Virtual Environments for Entertainment
  • Wearable Entertainment
  • Wireless and Mobile Gaming
  • Testbed and Performance Evaluation

Paper Submissions

We encourage researchers from industry and academia to submit original works. Submitted papers must represent original material that is not currently under review in any other conference or journal, and has not been previously published. The paper should be a maximum of FIVE (5) pages formatted following the IEEE conference template; the authors are allowed to pay for up to TWO (2) additional pages at $150 per over length page.

Submitted manuscripts must be formatted in standard IEEE camera-ready format (double-column, 10-pt font) and must be submitted via EDAS (http://edas.info/N18167) as PDF files.

The authors are required to make sure the pdf file and EDAS registration page of a paper have the same list of authors and the paper title. Once reviewed the listing of authors connected to the paper can NOT be changed in the final manuscript.

Further information may be found on the main conference web page.

Accepted and presented papers will be published in the conference proceedings and submitted to IEEE Xplore as well as other Abstracting and Indexing (A&I) databases.

Important Dates

  • Paper submission due: August 25, 2014 September 10, 2014 (extended - FIRM DEADLINE)
  • Acceptance notification: Sept. 30, 2014
  • Camera ready due: Oct. 20, 2014


General Co-Chairs
  • Prof. Abdennour El Rhalibi (Liverpool John Moores University, UK, A.Elrhalibi[AT]ljmu.ac.uk)
  • Prof. Marco Roccetti (University of Bologna, Italy, roccetti[AT]cs.unibo.it)
Program Chair
  • Prof. Claudio E. Palazzi (University of Padua, Italy, cpalazzi[AT]math.unipd.it)
Publicity Chair
  • Dr. Armir Bujari (University of Padua, Italy, abujari[AT]math.unipd.it)
Technical Program Committee (tentative)
  • Maha Abdallah - Univ. Paris VI, France
  • Nadjib Achir - Univ. Paris XIII, France
  • Sachin Agrawal - University of Limerick, Ireland
  • Robert Aswith - Liverpool John Moores University, UK
  • Eduard Babulak - CORDIS European Commission
  • Raouf Boutaba - University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Khaled Boussetta - Univ. Paris XIII, France
  • Armir Bujari - University of Padua, Italy
  • Tony Brooks - Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Antonio Caruso - University of Salento, Italy f
  • Ling-Jyh Chen - Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • Sheng-Wei (Kuan-Ta) Chen – Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • Abdennour El Rhalibi - Liverpool John Moores University, UK
  • Stefano Ferretti - University of Bologna, Italy
  • Marco Furini - University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy
  • Ombretta Gaggi – University of Padua, Italy
  • Yacine Ghamri Doudane, LRSM, Ensiie, France
  • Mario Gerla - UCLA, USA
  • Sergei Gorlatch - Univ. of Münster, Germany
  • Jiungyao Huang - National Taipei University, Taiwan
  • Shun-Yun Hu, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • Wen-Liang Hwang - Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • Uichin Lee - Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, USA
  • Ilias Leontiadis, University of Cambridge, Computer Science Department, UK
  • Dario Maggiorini - Univ. of Milano, Italy
  • Gustavo Marfia - University of Bologna, Italy
  • Tammara Massey - J. Hopkins University at Washington, USA
  • Madjid Merabti - Liverpool John Moores University, UK
  • Graham Morgan - Newcastle University, UK
  • Rajae Ouazzani - Ecole Supérieure de Technologie de Meknès, Maroc
  • Claudio Palazzi - University of Padua, Italy
  • Zhigeng Pan - Hangzhou Normal University, PRC
  • Giovanni Pau - UCLA, USA
  • Edmond Prakash - Manchester Metropolitan University, UK
  • Matthias Rauterberg - Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
  • Marco Roccetti - University of Bologna, Italy
  • Paola Salomoni - University of Bologna, Italy
  • Alexandro Sentinelli, STMicroelectronics, Milan, Italy
  • Yuanyuan Shen - Liverpool John Moores University, UK
  • Jo Yew Tham - A*STAR, Singapore
  • Yun Ruwei, Nanjing Normal University, China
  • Massimo Valla - Telecom Italia Lab, Italy
  • Laurence T. Yang - St. Francis Xavier University, Canada
  • Qingshu Yuan - Hangzhou Normal University, PRC
  • Michele Zorzi - University of Padua, Italy